Change

Change can be scary, but we all have to go through it at some point in our life. I have been contemplating on whether or not I should write about this, but I feel like it will be a good chance for me to share the beginning of my college life. So just a warning this might get lengthy and emotional, but here we go….

I had a huge change in my life over a year ago. I moved 1000 miles away from my home to attend a University where I didn’t know anybody. Okay I knew two people, but they were older than me. Talk about terrifying, but I knew I was suppose to be there. I was nervous and excited and anxious and freaking out all at the same time. I got the news of who my roommates were going to be and we emailed back and forth a lil bit. They were all from Utah, and that was pretty intimidating to me. Here I am this somewhat country girl from Oklahoma about to room with three small town Utah girls. And let me tell you…there is a HUGE difference between most Utah folk and out of state folk. Needless to say, we did not get along. My boyfriend and I had broken up, I did not have a car, and I did not know hardly anybody. Talk about heartache and hardship. Facebook did not help this at all. I would see pictures and videos of everyone back home having what looked like fun, while I sat in my apartment room wishing I was there on Friday and Saturday nights. (I know…I was such a loner) I got asked out on a few dates, but nothing too exciting. My best date my first semester was going to dinner and then riding the chair lifts for a moon lit ride. I went with my only friends that I had at the time. Other than that I was pretty much creeped out by most boys that talked to me. (note to boys: PLEASE don’t talk about scout camp the whole time…it’s annoying and I really could care less about every single skit you performed that summer as a camp counselor)

My next semester at college was better. I became best friends with the most amazing girls I could have ever met, and a group of boys that were total babes. I went on more dates and life just simply could not get any better. I got to go to Arizona, Las Vegas, and San Diego in the period of 3 months. I moved in with my best friend once spring semester was over and laid by the pool every single day. It wasn’t until the end of summer that my life started to get crazy again. I went back home for a week because my brother returned from his mission he was serving in Brazil. I met up with my ex boyfriend and we decided we were going to try to make things work. I went back to Utah to start school, and decided I was going to move home and attend the University of Oklahoma for spring semester so me and my boyfriend could have a more stable relationship. He visited me out in Utah and that’s when things went bad. We ended things permanently and I was heart broken once again. My mom came out to visit and help me through what seemed like never ending depressing days. I always tried to keep in mind what she told me when I was playing tennis and competing against girls that I did not have good relationships with: “fake it till you make it.” And that’s exactly what I did. I tried to show the world that I was this happy girl and that nothing could bring me down. My mom and I talked about what college I was going to attend. Lets just say many tears were shed during this process. I decided to stay in Utah and finish my spring semester at UVU and possibly transfer to BYU to finish my college career if I get accepted (Keep your fingers crossed!)

Now I am at the point where all I am worrying about is my acceptance/denied letter from BYU, where I am going to live once my contract is up in April and getting a 4.0 this semester. To all of my high school readers: Change is good. Moving away from home is better. College is AMAZING. Don’t focus on what’s on facebook or twitter; make your focus your goals. One thing I am truly grateful for during my whole transition process of moving away from home and being on my own is the gospel of Jesus Christ. How truly amazing it is. I’m definitely not perfect, but the gospel is. My Heavenly Father has been with me through my ups and my downs and I’m beyond grateful for the change in my testimony. Prayers are answered and people are put into your life for a reason.

I apologize for the length of this post, and if you made it to the end congrats! and thanks…it means more to me than you know.

xoxo

 

One thought on “Change

Write a little note...

